+27 (0) 82 654 0630

Blog Detail

Announcement of semi finalists

Fine Music Radio 101.3 fm

National Youth Music Competition 2016

Announcing the 12 Semi finalists

Following three days and three demanding rounds in the 2016 National Youth Music Competition, at the Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre, Parow CT, the semi finalist have been announced.

The 12 finalists and their final round time slots on the 13th Oct are the following:

Lisa Britz | Harp (Parow CT)10:00 – 10:40

Caroline Robertson | Cello (Newlands CT) 10:40 – 11:20

Alexander Whitehead | Cello (JHB) 11:40 – 12:20

Beata Boshoff | Piano (Bethlehem)12:30 – 13:00

So Jung La | Clarinet (Pretoria) 14:00 – 14:40

Chris van Zyl | Cello (UFS)14:40 – 15:20

Nao Matsushita | Piano (JHB)15:40 – 16:20

Cameron Williams | Saxophone (Stellenbosch) 16:20 – 17:00

Emilio February | Marimba (Pinelands)18:00 – 18:40

Jolandi Schaap | Piano (Pretoria) 18:40 – 19:20

Iman Bulbulia | Piano (Mayfair) 19:40 – 20:20

Annerike du Plessis | Piano (Belville CT) 20:20 – 21:00

In the next round, the semi finalist will play a 20-minute recital of contrasting works, as well as a movement from a concerto; or a single work for the chosen instrument; or two movements from a concerto; or a complete concerto with piano accompaniment.

After many months of hard work, heartfelt dedication and mounting anticipation the top six contestants are chosen to perform with the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra at an esteemed gala concert under the baton of Brandon Phillips. This will be followed by a closing ceremony and announcement of Prize Winners.

Cash and other prizes totalling more than R150 000 - as well as Gold, Silver and Bronze medals will be awarded. Prize money is generously donated by The Rupert Music Foundation. The Second Prize is generously sponsored by OAK (Overstrand Arts/Kunste) .

The adjudicators for 2016 include prominent academics and musicians from across South Africa, whose expertise covers most of the instruments represented in the competition. They are; Dr Tinus Botha(Piano), David Earl (Piano), Prof Ella Fourie (piano), Prof Franklin Larey (piano), Marian Lewin (cello), Michael Maas (Chairman of NYMF), Vaughan Pietersen, Kutlwano Masote (Violin), Dr Becky Steltzner (Clarinet).

The shadow jury is an educational element introduced by Michael Maas and focuses on training future music adjudicators. Shadow Jury advisor Sean Adams (Pianist & Organist) oversees the selection and process.2016 group consists of former contestants. They are Yohan Chun: Piano, BMus Degree (Final Year), University of Cape Town Dominic Daula: Piano, BMus Degree (Final Year), University of Cape Town Ferról-Jon Davids: Clarinet, BMus Degree (Second Year), University of Stellenbosch Lynne Donson: Cello, BMus Degree (Final Year), University of Stellenbosch Nicholas Haralambous: Piano, BMus Degree (Final Year), University of Cape Town Sulayman Human: Piano, MMus Degree (Second Year), University of Stellenbosch Sakhile Humbane: Flute, BMus Degree (Third Year), University of Cape Town.

Ticket costs R120 per person. Block bookings of 10 or more, less 10%, Pensioners, Students and Scholars 5-15 years R90. Book through Computicket,Shoprite and Checkers outlets, call 0861 915 8000 or online www.computicket.com


Do not miss out if you are not in CT
FMR broadcast and LIVE STREAM of the Gala Concert 15 Oct, 7.30pm
click here : http://www.nymc.co.za/live-stream.php

Photographs , further information on the adjudicators and full Prize listing available on request.

12 Oct 2016

Issued by Kerry Friedmann of Madiba Music for the National Youth Music Foundation

For More Information please contact

Michael Maas NYMF Chairman m | +27 83 659 2808
Kerry Friedmann || Madiba Music cc m +27 82 455 3447
e | madibamusickf@gmail.com

Tuned into Marketing/PR || Event || Entertainment Management